Spiritual Puttering

“We must see that consciousness is neither an isolated soul nor the mere function of a single nervous system, but of that totality of interrelated stars and galaxies which makes a nervous system possible.”
Alan Watts (1915 – 1973)

One of my favorite things in the world is puttering in my little home — laundry, sweeping, organizing, laundry, sweeping, organizing, meditating, writing, eating, meditating, writing, eating. I get into a flow that feels nourishing to my very soul, following the river of movement, attraction and impulse. Just as the body is the shelter for the soul, so the home is the shelter for the body. The putterings I do in my home feel meditative, calming and inspired. There’s no hard-and-fast rule of where I go next, what I do next, the order of the tasks. I listen to the calling of my heart. I listen to the calling of my home.

“You have begun to hearken to that call, but for most people it is an unnoticed voice in the innermost recesses of their hearts.” ~ Shaykh Nazim Adil Al-Haqqani, Book: In the Mystic Footsteps of Saints

My spiritual experiences seem to mimic these movements. I follow the energy of my spirit. Is meditation calling me in this moment? Is reading the works of spiritual teachers calling to me in this moment? Is writing from Source calling to me in this moment? When I pause for just a moment and listen, I can hear the yearnings of my heart, the longings of my soul and when I follow this river, it leads to pure delight, alignment, resonance.

“When many voices are speaking at once, listen to the one most quiet and gentle. That’s the one worth listening to. ~ Miranda Linda Weisz

Imagine a world where everyone flowed in their own soul’s river, where everyone listened to their heart, where everyone followed their bliss. It would be a peaceful, joyful place with everyone’s hearts being filled up and cared for in a powerful and transformative way. Let’s co-create that world together, shall we?  Much love, Jodi

“When you do things from your soul, you feel a river moving in you, a joy.” ~Rumi

Leave a Reply

