The Heart of Awareness

Impressions by Jodi Hyde

My yoga instructor, Douglas, shared this paraphrase from the Ashtavakra Gita during our chavasana & I would like to share it with you:

“You are perfect already, just as you are.

You don’t have to do anything.

You are whole & complete, fulfilled, free.

You are the space in between of pure awareness.”

Below please find a chapter in The Heart of Awareness:

7    The Boundless Ocean

I am the boundless ocean.                                                                 1

This way and that,
The wind, blowing where it will,
Drives the ship of the world.

But I am not shaken.

I am the unbounded deep                                                                  2
In whom the waves of all the worlds
Naturally rise and fall.

But I do not rise or fall.

I am the infinite deep                                                                          3
In whom all the worlds
Appear to rise.

Beyond all form,
Forever still.

Even so am I.

I am not in the world.                                                                         4
The world is not in me.

I am pure.
I am unbounded.

Free from attachment,
Free from desire,
Still.

Even so am I.

O how wonderful!                                                                                 5

I am awareness itself,
No less.

The world is a magic show!

But in me
There is nothing to embrace,
And nothing to turn away.

Much love, Jodi

Share

Leave a Reply

