Bittersweet Symphony

“I am a member of the orchestra, playing the symphony of life.” ~ L.S.

” ‘Cause it’s a bittersweet symphony, this life.” ~The Verve

This past week, I journeyed to my family in Ohio and got my dose of nieces and nephews and pop culture by watching The Voice and The Chew. While the connection has always been there with my family, the symphony of love ever present, the differences between me & my family are salient, particularly with my folks, and, at times, I’ve definitely felt like the odd ball out.

My folks are Midwestern & American as apple pie. I have always been drawn to the West Coast, as long as I can remember, and while I’m American, I definitely check “Asian Pacific Islander” under the “race” box. My parents are conservative, Christian, traditional & Republican. I am progressive (more liberal than liberal), spiritual mystic, progressive (see above) & Independent. My family  subscribes to an interesting blend of frugality and materialism. I aspire to a blend of frugality and minimalism.

Yet, that love between us provides the common chorus, the common language. Our values of family, community, loyalty, & honesty create the melody with our differences providing the harmony. While we may play our instruments differently and manifest the music in our own unique ways, together, we create a beautiful symphony with more depth, more range, than if we all were the same.

Embrace your differences. Feel the beauty & creativity in your own unique musical contribution. Deeply know the connection in being part of this symphony we call life.

Much love, Jodi

Leave a comment